Rediscovering Humor

by Ted Echeverria, Rediscovery Project Participant

Being handicapped leads me into some funny situations.  The most frustrating situations are sometimes the funniest.  I was vacuuming our flat in Tamales with an upright vacuum cleaner that did not have a retracting cord.  With my spastic fumbling I wrapped the cord around my feet, caught it on the wood stove, snagged a chair, caught it under the bathroom door, and then I was stuck and tangled up with this noisy, loathsome contraption.  The situation was so ludicrous that I felt like screaming.  Instead of screaming, the silliness of my predicament overwhelmed me and I doubled over laughing.  This was the first time I remember laughing in the years since I had the stroke.

Standard

Leave a Reply

